top of page

Real Madrid and Barça: Two Legendary Football Clubs

Santiago Bernabéu Camp Not

The two most famous football clubs in Spain, Real Madrid and Barcelona, are not only renowned for their on-field successes but also for their rich histories and passionate fanbases. Tourists visiting Madrid or Barcelona have the opportunity to get up close with these iconic teams by visiting their emblematic stadiums, the "Santiago Bernabéu" and the "Camp Nou," where their respective museums are also located.

Real Madrid Club de Fútbol

Officially founded on March 6, 1902, as Madrid Foot-ball Club, Real Madrid changed to its current name in 1920 when King Alfonso XIII granted the club the title "Real." Known for its white color, the club is owned by its over 90,000 members, making it one of the few entities in Spain that is not a sports corporation.

Real Madrid's Achievements

Real Madrid has been in the Primera División since its inception in 1929 and holds the record for the most titles in this league. Named the Best Club of the 20th Century by FIFA, its extensive and prestigious trophy history is impressive. Among its most notable achievements are 14 European Cups, 2 UEFA Cups, 5 European Super Cups, and 5 Club World Cups. Nationally, the club has won 36 La Liga titles, 20 Copa del Rey trophies, and 13 Spanish Super Cups.

Real Madrid has competed uninterruptedly in the Primera División since its creation in 1929, never having been relegated, a merit shared with Athletic Club and FC Barcelona. Additionally, it holds the longest unbeaten streak in Spanish football, with 40 consecutive matches without a loss between 2016 and 2017.

The recently renovated "Santiago Bernabéu" stadium is a must-visit. The Real Madrid museum is located there, and tickets can be accessed via their website:

Fútbol Club Barcelona

Fútbol Club Barcelona, popularly known as Barça, was founded as a football club on November 29, 1899, and officially registered on January 5, 1903. Both the club and its fans are known as "culers," and in reference to their colors, "azulgranas" or "blaugranas."

Like Real Madrid, Barça is owned by its over 143,000 members. Along with Athletic Club and Real Madrid, Barça has the distinction of participating uninterruptedly in the Primera División since its founding and was the first historic champion of the competition. With 77 national championships and 22 international trophies, it is the second most successful Spanish club.

Barça's Achievements

Barça is one of the most decorated institutions globally, accumulating a total of 133 official titles over its more than 110-year history. Among its most notable achievements are five European Cups, five UEFA Super Cups, and four European Cup Winners' Cups. Nationally, it has won 27 La Liga titles, 31 Copa del Rey trophies, and 14 Spanish Super Cups.

In 2009, under the management of Josep Guardiola, the club won every competition it contested: La Liga, Copa del Rey, Spanish Super Cup, Champions League, UEFA Super Cup, and Club World Cup, making it the first and only Spanish team and the first European team to achieve a "sextuple," winning six official titles in a single year.

The legendary "Camp Nou" stadium houses the Barça museum, a must-see for any football fan visiting Barcelona. More information and tickets are available at

For tourists visiting Madrid or Barcelona who wish to explore these cities and immerse themselves in their unique cultures, the Spain Walking Tours apps come highly recommended.

1 view0 comments


Valutazione 0 stelle su 5.
Non ci sono ancora valutazioni

Aggiungi una valutazione
bottom of page